Treatment Specialties and Clinical Interests: I especially enjoy working with teens and young adults. I also work with more mature pre-teens, adults, and families. I have a particular interest in supporting gender non-conforming people and the LGBTQ community. Most of my clients are working on resolving low self-esteem, self-identity issues, depression, anxiety, social fears, sexual orientation issues, gender identity concerns, behavioral problems, parenting issues, parent/child conflicts, family communication difficulties, and divorce reaction, among other problems.

Clinical Approach: I use what is called an “eclectic” approach with my clients. What this means is that I draw upon many different therapeutic approaches and theories and use what seems needed in any particular session. Some of the therapeutic approaches I use are solution-oriented therapy, cognitive-behavioral therapy, mindfulness and self-awareness techniques, and dialectical behavior therapy techniques, among other approaches. I support my clients in a non-judgmental exploration of outdated beliefs and behaviors though which they become empowered to choose alternative beliefs and behaviors, which allows for healing and growth.

Education and Experience: I earned my Masters in Clinical Social Work from New Mexico Highlands University and my Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from San Francisco State University. I have more than 15 years of hands-on experience working with children, adolescents, families, and groups in a variety of settings, including private practice, outpatient mental health clinics, and residential treatment centers.

Personal Interests: In my spare time I love spending time with my family and pets, gardening, mountain biking, hiking, and taking road trips to new places. I grew up riding and competing with horses and, while I don’t currently have a horse, I find that much of my personal growth has come through contact with them and they still have a significant influence on my life.